Methodist Ladies' College is governed by a Board of Directors. The Principal reports to the Board of Directors and, with the College Management Team, oversees all aspects of the College. This structure ensures the ongoing sustainability of the College and the delivery of exceptional academic and co-curricular programs.

MLC Constitution and Stakeholder Members

In June 2015 the College adopted an updated Constitution. Accompanying the Constitution is the Relationship Agreement between MLC and the Uniting Church.

Under the Constitution there is a membership base consisting of both Stakeholder Members and Directors. The following are the elected Stakeholder Members of the College:

Alice Chiew (current parent, Strategic Consultant)
Elizabeth Crosthwaite (current parent, Old Collegian, Clinical Researcher)
Fiona Curry (current parent, Not For Profit Director)
Anne Daly (current parent, Physiotherapist)
Angela Dally (current parent, corporate lawyer)
Claude D’Cruz (current parent, Engineer)
Sarah Moller (current parent, Old Collegian, Corporate Lawyer)
John Nicopoulos (current parent, Company Director)
Simon Olive (current parent, Company Director)
Anne Turner (Old Collegian, Senior Lecturer)

MLC Directors and Members – Call for Nominations
I would like to invite members of the MLC Community to indicate their interest in a position as a Stakeholder Member of the College, or for a position on the MLC Board of Directors.
In accordance with the MLC Constitution, the membership of the College consists of 20 persons as follows:

  • 10 Stakeholder Members
  • 9 Ordinary Directors
  • The Chair of the Board
Stakeholder Members can be:
  • Parent Members (parent or guardian of a student at the College at the time of application)
  • Alumni Members (a former student of the College)
  • Additional Stakeholder Members (parent, guardian, alumni, or person with a connection to the College)
Further details regarding the composition and eligibility of membership can be obtained from the Constitution above.
The Constitution has provisions that require regular renewal of all positions (effectively an equal number each year). The following positions are open for nomination for 2018:
  • 3 Ordinary Directors (3 year term, commencing 1 January 2018 and expiring 31 December 2020)
  • 1 Parent Member (3 year term)
  • 1 Alumni Member (3 year term)
  • 1 Additional Stakeholder Member (3 year term)

Further details are available in the Constitution, Clause 11. Existing members whose initial terms have expired are eligible to re-nominate, in accordance with the Constitution.

The Process for Nomination
To nominate, please complete the nomination form located below, indicating the category of membership you are applying for (can be more than one). Please include:

  • Your completed nomination form;
  • A one page curriculum vitae outlining your connection with the College and, for Director nominees, the skills, experience and personal characteristics you would bring to the Board.

Please submit these documents via email to the Nominations Committee via by Friday, 29 September 2017.
All submissions will be acknowledged and treated in confidence.
The Nominations Committee will consider all nominations and conduct a preliminary consideration of the potential candidates in advance of the College Extraordinary General Meeting (EGM) to be held in November 2018.

Expectations of Members and Directors
All Member positions (i.e. both Directors and Stakeholder Members) are honorary and Members are required to attend and participate in General meetings of the Company. There are usually two General meetings a year in March and November.
Board members (Directors) attend two Board meetings each term, a total of eight meetings for the year.
The Board also has a number of sub-committees that meet between Board meetings.
Being a Director of any organisation, including MLC, is a serious undertaking that has personal responsibilities and obligations at law. Nominees should seek professional advice if they are uncertain as to what these obligations are.
It is a requirement for all members to have a valid Working with Children Check.
Tony Peake, Chair, MLC Board of Directors

MLC Directors and Members - Call for Nomination Form

News & Events

View More
July 19, 2018
Sound and Light Festival
Immerse yourself in a whole evening of art, and see the MLC grounds lit up like you never have before!
Read More
July 11, 2018
MLC Kindle are Little Scientists
MLC Kindle are one of the first Little Scientist Houses in Victoria.
Read More
June 22, 2018
Entrepreneurial idea takes students to US
Three Year 11 students are travelling to Washington DC after winning a Young Entrepreneurs competition.
Read More